## CYNGOR SIR POWYS COUNTY COUNCIL.

County Council
18 November 2016.

**REPORT AUTHOR:** Solicitor to the Council

**SUBJECT:** 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies

REPORT FOR: Response to Consultation

On 24 March 2016 the Boundary Commission for Wales announced the start of the 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 as amended by the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011. The Act of Parliament reduces the number of constituencies in the UK from 650 to 600 and sets an electoral quota which requires each constituency to have an electorate, as at the review date, that is not smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

The Boundary Commission for Wales has published and is consulting on its initial proposals for the 2018 review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales. It was decided at the meeting of Powys County Council held on 19 October that Group Leaders would meet to consider the proposals further and draft a response on the behalf of the Council for approval, Appendix 1 attached.

## **Proposal Summary**

The Commission proposes a new county constituency of **Brecon, Radnor and Montgomery**. This new constituency would contain the existing constituency of Brecon & Radnorshire and the following wards of Montgomeryshire: Berriew, Caersws, Churchstoke, Dolforwyn, Forden, Kerry, Llandinam, Montgomery, Newtown Central, Newtown East, Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North, Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West, Newtown South, Rhiwcynon. The constituency would have an electorate of 72,115 and would have the largest geographical area of the proposed Welsh constituencies.

The electoral wards of Blaen Hafren and Llanidloes (with a joint electorate of 3852) are joined to the existing constituency of Ceredigion and wards from north Pembrokeshire and Carmarthen to create a new county constituency of **Ceredigion a Gogledd Sir Benfro** (Ceredigion and North Pembrokeshire). This constituency would have an electorate of 71,392.

North Montgomeryshire, (which includes: Glantwymyn, Banwy, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant/Llansilin, Llanbrynmair, Llanfair Caereinion, Llanfihangel, Llanwyddyn, Meifod, Llandrinio, Guilsfield, Welshpool castle, Welshpool Gungrog, Welshpool Llanerchyddol, Trewern, Llanfyllin, Llansantffraid, Machynllent and Llandysilio) joins electoral wards from Denbighshire, Wrexham, Conwy and Gwynedd to form a new county constituency called **De Clwyd a Gogledd Sir Faldwyn** (South Clwyd and North Montgomeryshire). This new constituency would have an electorate of 71,097.

A full copy of the report is available at the Boundary Commission for Wales website: <a href="https://www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk/2018-review">www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk/2018-review</a>.

Recommendation:	Reason for Recommendation:
To consider the Powys County	To provide the Boundary Commission
Council response drafted by Group	with representations from Powys County
Leaders.	Council.

Relevant Policy (ies):			
Within Policy:	N/A	Within Budget:	N/A

Contact Officer Name:	Tel:	Fax:	Email:
Sandra Matthews	01597 826747	01597 826220	sandram@powys.gov.uk

Relevant Portfolio Member(s):	County Councillor Wynne Jones
Relevant Local Member(s):	All Members

**Background Papers used to prepare Report:** Boundary Commission for Wales, 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies - Initial Proposals Report.